Tuesday, August 2, 2011

2011 Opera News Awards Honorees Announced

Alrighty Chickpeas, I have just received word that a date has been chosen for the seventh annual Opera News Awards - Sunday, April 29 at The Plaza in New York City. Created in 2005 in part as a benefit gala for the education programs of the Metropolitan Opera Guild, the Opera News Awards recognize five individuals each year for distinguished achievement in the field of opera.

This year, the ONAs pay tribute to five artists who have made an invaluable contribution to the art form: sopranos Karita Mattila and Anja Silja, baritones Dmitri Hvorostovsky and Peter Mattei, and director Peter Sellars.

The official announcement of this year’s honorees appears in the September 2011 issue of Opera News, which is available on August 4 and features baritone Mariusz Kwiecien – the Metropolitan Opera’s new Don Giovanni – on its cover. All of the winners will be present at the gala awards dinner, which will feature celebrity presenters speaking about the awardees and introducing video performance clips. The April 2012 issue of Opera News will feature tributes to the five awardees, all distinguished members of the international operatic community.

Now ... if only Yours Truly could only get a Press Ticket to the event. Hmmmm...

Anyhoo, Editor in Chief, F. Paul Driscoll says about the event:
Once again, the editors of Opera News take pride in celebrating the achievements of an extraordinary quintet of honorees. These five incomparable artists have enriched and inspired us all. It will be a privilege to welcome them to the Opera News Awards gala on April 29.
As you probably already know, previous Opera News Awards honorees include:
2005: James Conlon, Régine Crespin, Plácido Domingo, Susan Graham, Dolora Zajick
2006: Ben Heppner, James Levine, René Pape, Renata Scotto, Deborah Voigt
2007: Olga Borodina, Stephanie Blythe, Thomas Hampson, Leontyne Price, Julius Rudel
2008: John Adams, Natalie Dessay, Renée Fleming, Marilyn Horne, Sherrill Milnes
2009: Martina Arroyo, Joyce DiDonato, Gerald Finley, Philip Glass, Shirley Verrett
2010: Jonas Kaufmann, Riccardo Muti, Patricia Racette, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, Bryn Terfel
To this years honorees, we say cheers! Salute! Santé! Prost!

1 comment:

Mendel Markel, www.classicalvocals.com said...

Very excited to see Hvorostovsky there. He's long been one of my absolute favorites. While I am awed by his unbelievable ability in opera, one of my favorite albums of all time is actually his album of Russian folk songs, "Kalinka".

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...